## RESOLUTION NO. 97-77

A RESOLUTION BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF NASSAU COUNTY, FLORIDA, URGING THE 1997 FLORIDA LEGISLATURE TO CREATE A DEDICATED FUNDING SOURCE FOR STATEWIDE BEACH MANAGEMENT AND SUPPORT HOUSE BILL 103

WHEREAS, beaches are Florida's number one tourist attraction, generating more than \$16 billion annually to the state's economy; and

WHEREAS, wide sandy beaches are the first line of protection against hurricanes and can reduce damage to coastal properties by more than 50 percent; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Environmental Protection estimates that at least 276 miles of Florida's sandy beaches are experiencing critical erosion, a situation which is hurting both tourism and storm protection along both coasts; and

whereas, when the state's beach management program was enacted in 1986, the Legislature declared an intent to "appropriate at least \$35 million annually" to implement this program, an amount reinforced by DEP's FY1997-98 legislative budget request; and

WHEREAS, average appropriations over the last five years have been less that \$9 million, resulting in long delays in urgently needed beach preservation projects; and

WHEREAS, House Bill 103 in the 1997 Legislature will create a dedicated funding source for statewide beach management of approximately \$30 million annually from cruise ship passengers embarking and debarking in Florida.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Nassau County, Florida that:

- 1. The Board strongly urges the Florida Legislature to enact HB 103 or any other legislative effort to provide long-term dedicated funding for Florida's beaches.
- 2. A copy of this resolution shall be provided to all members of the Nassau County Legislative Delegation in the Florida Legislature and to the Florida Shore and Beach Preservation Association.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS NASSAU COUNTY, FLORIDA

JOHN A. CRAWFORD Its: Chairman

ATTEST:

J. M. "CHIP" OXLEY JR

Its: Ex-Officio Clerk

Approved as to form by the Nassau County Attorney:

MICHAEL S. MULLIN